Paper Fishes are an indie rock band.

Paper Fishes are a UK-based indie rock band. They were formed by lead vocalist and songwriter Andre Levy in 2018, and in the summer of 2021 were signed to the UK indie label Irregular Patterns. Their debut album Instant Happiness will be released in November 2021.

The band also features bass player Simon Edwards (Fairground Attraction) and drummer Aram Zarikian (Seamus Fogarty), and were recently joined by violinist Emma Smith (Elysian 4tet, Jon Hopkins), when they recorded material for their second album at Zoo Studios in Eastbourne.

Paper Fishes took their name from a collection of short stories by the American writer and artist Kristin Joyce Stevenson (the actual book title is Paper Fish). Other short-listed band names were The Dead Beats Society, Boulevardiers, Kill Your Darlings, and Marginalia. Other writers they like include Umberto Eco, Kazuo Ishiguro, Thomas Pynchon and Kurt Vonnegut. They’re that kind of band. But they’re more (or less) than that too. Like the film Mallrats, but in reverse.

Due to Levy’s antipathy towards social media (which they are currently boycotting – be the change you want to see), tablet phones and mobile internet generally, Paper Fishes have a limited online presence. What can we say, he’s an analogue kind of guy – he watches a CRT television and rents DVDs. From a video shop no less (the awesome 20th Century Flicks in Bristol). But they’re happy with online digital music distribution and their music will be available on all the usual download and streaming platforms, and you can even find sound and motion picture recordings on VimTube.